Archives for 2007

Tue 25 December 2007
Merry Christmas!
Fri 21 December 2007
Cisco EoL / EoS Announcement Batch #4
Thu 20 December 2007
Enabling Vertical (\G) Output in the MySQL Client
Mon 17 December 2007
Installing PDLMs for Cisco NBAR
Fri 14 December 2007
Cisco Phases Out More Products
Wed 12 December 2007
Another Batch of Cisco EoL / EoS Announcements
Tue 11 December 2007
Cisco ASA / PIX Logging Facilities
Mon 10 December 2007
Cisco Announces End of Life
Fri 07 December 2007
Camino On The Move, 1.5.4 Available
Thu 06 December 2007
Looks Like I'm Back On AIM
Tue 04 December 2007
Our New Dell Vostro 1500
Sun 02 December 2007
2 AM and ssh_exchange_identification Silliness
Sat 01 December 2007
Cisco Fills My Inbox with EoS / EoL Announcements
Sat 01 December 2007
Oops! Firefox 2.0.0.11
Thu 29 November 2007
BIND 9.4.2 Just For You!
Wed 28 November 2007
No BlogRush Here
Tue 27 November 2007
Firefox 2.0.0.10 In Full Effect
Mon 26 November 2007
Cisco Making My Day Difficult
Tue 20 November 2007
ActiveRecord and SELECT DISTINCT
Sat 17 November 2007
Cisco EoS and EoL Announcements
Thu 15 November 2007
Another Red Hat Flurry of Fixes
Wed 14 November 2007
Bug Fixes Gone Wild!
Tue 13 November 2007
Do You Need Another Reason To Give?
Sat 10 November 2007
Gmail And IMAP, Perfect
Fri 09 November 2007
Did You Know Camino 1.5.3 Was Out?
Thu 08 November 2007
And Then There Was 8
Tue 06 November 2007
Red Hat Bugfix Fiesta
Mon 05 November 2007
Tooting My Own Horn: Google PR 4
Fri 02 November 2007
DNS Root Server IP Address Change
Fri 02 November 2007
Firefox 2.0.0.9 Addresses Old Issues
Thu 01 November 2007
Fedora Core 6 Reaching End of Life
Thu 01 November 2007
BlogRush Phase 2 - Just In Time
Tue 30 October 2007
Installing RubyGems with MacPorts
Mon 29 October 2007
Logging Active Record Queries to a File
Fri 26 October 2007
Catalyst 2960 Unsupported Commands Still Work?
Thu 25 October 2007
Have You Heard About Clubbox?
Wed 24 October 2007
What is Local Policy-Based Routing?
Tue 23 October 2007
Camino 1.5.2 Is On The Scene
Tue 23 October 2007
Know The Red Hat Errata Support Policy
Mon 22 October 2007
Postfix 2.4.6 Is Now Available
Fri 19 October 2007
Firefox 2.0.0.8 Now Available
Fri 19 October 2007
Perl, ntop and Odd Hash Assignments
Tue 16 October 2007
Giving BlogRush A Whirl
Thu 11 October 2007
SNMP Community String Indexing
Wed 10 October 2007
Allow PPTP Through Cisco ASA
Mon 08 October 2007
Courier and Courier IMAP 20071006 Announced
Mon 08 October 2007
Cisco NBAR P2P Protocols
Sat 06 October 2007
More Cisco EOL/EOS Announcements
Fri 05 October 2007
Interesting OIDs for Cisco NBAR
Wed 03 October 2007
Private Autonomous System Numbers (ASNs)
Tue 02 October 2007
Best Practical Releases RT 3.6.5
Mon 01 October 2007
More Horde Updates
Mon 01 October 2007
Updated Fedora 7 Re-Spins Available
Sat 29 September 2007
New Courier Packages Released
Sat 29 September 2007
Horde Announces New Releases
Sat 29 September 2007
Cisco EOS and EOL Announcements
Thu 27 September 2007
Courier Mail Server Updated
Wed 26 September 2007
ISC Releases BIND 9.2.9
Wed 26 September 2007
Cisco Catalyst 3560 POST Output
Mon 24 September 2007
Gmail Annoyances
Thu 20 September 2007
Redirecting With .htaccess
Wed 19 September 2007
Firefox 2.0.0.7 QuickTime-related Issue
Tue 18 September 2007
Using SPAN to Monitor a Switchport
Mon 17 September 2007
Set the Cisco Interface Description
Tue 11 September 2007
Finding Cisco Neighbors with SNMP
Mon 10 September 2007
Basic Cisco SNMP Security (v1/v2)
Sun 09 September 2007
WordPress Upgraded to 2.2.3
Wed 05 September 2007
Show All Routes Within a Particular Block
Tue 04 September 2007
Web Expert: Stephen Hebert and Acadian Imaging
Mon 03 September 2007
How Do I Convert to Uppercase on the Command Line?
Fri 31 August 2007
What is a Route Server?
Thu 30 August 2007
Slaptijack Breaks into Alexa Top 1,000,000
Tue 28 August 2007
Bye Bye BIND 8 (BIND 8 EOL)
Tue 28 August 2007
Get Subversion Updates via Email
Mon 27 August 2007
MacPorts Updated to v1.5
Fri 24 August 2007
Cisco's ip helper-address Too Forward?
Thu 23 August 2007
RT, Stop Resolve Auto-Responses for a Single Queue
Tue 21 August 2007
Regex Crashes BGP Routers
Mon 20 August 2007
Camino 1.5.1 Released
Tue 14 August 2007
Using Forwarders in BIND Name Servers
Fri 10 August 2007
Cisco IOS Interface Load-Balancing
Wed 08 August 2007
MySQL Gotcha: Remote Root Access
Tue 07 August 2007
Rsync Backups: Conserve Disk Space with Hard Links
Mon 06 August 2007
Securing Virtual Terminal (VTY) Lines
Fri 03 August 2007
Defining Management IPs in Cisco IOS
Wed 01 August 2007
Username / Password Authentication in Cisco IOS
Mon 30 July 2007
Easy Traffic Shaping in Cisco IOS
Fri 27 July 2007
Cisco Catalyst 2960 Inbound Rate Limiting Example
Fri 27 July 2007
Inbound Rate Limiting on Cisco Catalyst Switches
Wed 25 July 2007
Show Power Supply Status in Cisco IOS
Tue 24 July 2007
Cisco Catalyst Configuration Using Cluster Commands
Mon 23 July 2007
Send Cisco Debug Messages to Syslog
Fri 20 July 2007
Alexa Sparky: Making Firefox and Alexa Play Nice
Thu 19 July 2007
Cisco, NAT, and Port Range Stupidity
Wed 18 July 2007
Turning Off Windows XP Auto Logon (Or Back On Again)
Tue 17 July 2007
Creating favicon.ico In Photoshop
Mon 16 July 2007
Multiuser GNU Screen - Long Distance Teaching Tool
Fri 13 July 2007
You Too Can SSH Without A Password
Wed 11 July 2007
Quick and Dirty Subversion Repository with SSH
Tue 10 July 2007
Err-Disabled: Loopback Edition!
Mon 09 July 2007
Scheduled Reloads Will Save Your Bacon
Fri 06 July 2007
What's My Worth?
Tue 03 July 2007
HTTP vs P2P: Cisco NBAR Confirms It
Mon 02 July 2007
SlaptiUpdates: Now You Can Get Daily Slaptijack!
Fri 29 June 2007
The Unjoy of Hanging MySQL Locks
Wed 27 June 2007
Questions to Ask a Potential WAN Provider
Tue 26 June 2007
John Chow - 24 Evil Genius
Mon 25 June 2007
Slaptijack Upgraded to WordPress 2.2.1
Mon 18 June 2007
Allowing DHCP Option 82 in Cisco DHCP Relay Agents
Fri 15 June 2007
Technorati Loves Slaptijack!
Thu 14 June 2007
Blow Away Your Cisco Catalyst Configuration
Wed 13 June 2007
4 Easy Steps to DHCP Option 82 in Cisco Catalyst Switches
Tue 12 June 2007
Hey Slap: How Do I Define My Own MySQL Prompt?
Mon 11 June 2007
The Annoyance of 'show config'
Sun 10 June 2007
Doug Karr Made Me Work on the Weekend!
Fri 08 June 2007
What is DHCP Option 82?
Thu 07 June 2007
Updating OS X Network Settings to Use a Local DNS Server
Wed 06 June 2007
ncutil - OS X's Missing Network Configuration Utility
Tue 05 June 2007
BIND Startup in Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger)
Mon 04 June 2007
Post #100! (Cue Confetti)
Mon 04 June 2007
Starting BIND In OS X (Even After Reboot)
Fri 01 June 2007
OS X BIND Config Cleanup
Thu 31 May 2007
Creating an OS X Startup Item For BIND
Thu 31 May 2007
OS X Caching Only Name Server
Wed 30 May 2007
How To Hide Your BIND Version
Tue 29 May 2007
Slaptijack Site Shake-Up
Mon 28 May 2007
How Do You Want Your DS3? Scrambled?
Fri 25 May 2007
3 Reasons You Should Be Using Rapid Spanning Tree (802.1w)
Thu 24 May 2007
Gmail Has Ads?
Wed 23 May 2007
Success in Network and System Administration
Tue 22 May 2007
Controlling Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Traffic with Cisco NBAR
Mon 21 May 2007
Using Mutt with IMAP
Sun 20 May 2007
Floatutorial: CSS Float != Root Beer Float
Sat 19 May 2007
Top 10 Protocols on a Residential Broadband Network
Fri 18 May 2007
T1/T3 Alarms
Thu 17 May 2007
What is Mutt?
Tue 15 May 2007
MLB Schedule Widget
Mon 14 May 2007
Asterisk Channel Variables and the Asterisk::AGI Perl Module
Sun 13 May 2007
Using ACLs to Block NetBIOS Traffic on Cisco Catalyst Switches
Sat 12 May 2007
Using Cisco NBAR to Monitor Traffic Protocols on Your Network
Sat 12 May 2007
Top 5 - Group Writing Project Summary
Fri 11 May 2007
John Chow - Evil Genius
Fri 11 May 2007
Get The Most Out Of Ruby on Rails With Railscasts
Thu 10 May 2007
SlaptiGooglePR Plugin for WordPress Now in Beta
Wed 09 May 2007
What is NetBIOS?
Tue 08 May 2007
Top 5 OS X Command Line Utilities For Administrators
Mon 07 May 2007
Windows TCP Performance Tuning
Sun 06 May 2007
Solaris TCP Performance Tuning
Sat 05 May 2007
Mac OS X TCP Performance Tuning
Fri 04 May 2007
Linux TCP Performance Tuning
Thu 03 May 2007
TCP Performance Tuning and Broken Routers
Wed 02 May 2007
FreeBSD TCP Performance Tuning
Tue 01 May 2007
What is TCP Window Scaling?
Mon 30 April 2007
Debugging AGIs In Asterisk
Sun 29 April 2007
14 Algorithms For TCP Congestion Control
Sat 28 April 2007
TCP Performance Tuning
Fri 27 April 2007
Cisco Announces Flash Defects
Thu 26 April 2007
Redirecting User Email To Google With Postfix
Wed 25 April 2007
Must-Have Bookmark: XHTML Character Entity Reference
Tue 24 April 2007
Choosing Between RADIUS And TACACS+
Mon 23 April 2007
Converting Mac OS X Icon Files to PNG
Sun 22 April 2007
Courier Announces Updates
Sun 22 April 2007
Postfix 2.3 and clamav-milter
Fri 20 April 2007
Installing MySQL On Mac OS X Via Terminal
Thu 19 April 2007
Enabling Firefox's Session Restore
Wed 18 April 2007
Server Naming Conventions
Tue 17 April 2007
UDLD In Radio-Based Metro Ethernet Rings
Mon 16 April 2007
VoIP Hairpinning Issues
Sun 15 April 2007
Courier authdaemond Breaks On Hidden Whitespace
Sat 14 April 2007
Command Logging is Vital to System Administration
Fri 13 April 2007
Preparing Mac OS X For Production Remotely
Thu 12 April 2007
Using Alpha-Channel Transparency in Photoshop
Wed 11 April 2007
Adding Mac OS X Users Remotely
Tue 10 April 2007
Implement a Sensible Naming Policy in Cisco IOS
Mon 09 April 2007
Initial Thoughts on ScribeFire

My Bookshelf

Reading Now

Other Stuff